A hit-and-run accident in New Jersey occurs when a driver who is knowingly involved in the accident leaves the scene. If the accident resulted in a serious bodily injury or fatality, the person who left the scene can be guilty of a serious crime. Hit-and-run accidents are unfortunately common because people panic and want to avoid any legal consequences. Thankfully, there are laws that will still stop these people and place liability on them for any injuries from the accident.
What Are the New Jersey Hit-and-Run Penalties and Charges?
The charges that you or someone else could face under New Jersey law for leaving the scene of an accident will depend on the circumstances of the accident. Usually, the more serious the accident and injuries were, the more serious the guilty person’s penalties will be.
If the accident caused a serious injury or fatality, the penalties could be:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Fines up to $5,000
- Driver’s license suspension for up to a year
If the accident only caused vehicle damage, penalties can be:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Fines up to $400
- Driver’s license suspension for up to six months
Under New Jersey law, a driver involved in an accident resulting in an injury or fatality is required to immediately stop the vehicle at the accident scene. He or she is also required to give his or her name, address, license and registration, and insurance information to any police officers at the scene. In conclusion, most of the time it is safer to stay at the scene and cooperate with law enforcement than to flee the scene.
If you have been involved in a hit-and-run accident in New Jersey, you should speak with a personal injury attorney who can review your potential case. Contact Donald G. Targan & Associates today for your free consultation.