New Jersey law enforcement will take part in a statewide program targeting distracted drivers. The “U Drive. U Text. U Pay” campaign will last throughout April and involve more than 38 New Jersey police departments. Last year, the same driving safety campaign resulted in 13,000 tickets for drivers using a mobile phone behind the wheel.
How Common Are Distracted Driving Accidents in New Jersey?
Distracted driving has become one of the major contributors to both fatal and non-fatal car accidents in New Jersey. According to New Jersey state police, 542 people were killed throughout the state in 2013. Additional numbers from the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety (NJDHTS) show that in the last 10 years, there have been 1.4 million distracted driving accidents.
According to results from a 2014 survey by Fairleigh Dickson University, 68 percent of New Jersey drivers said they “very often” see other drivers using mobile phones.
New Jersey police departments participating in the campaign will be given $190,000 in grants by the NJDHTS to carry out extra patrols. New Jersey drivers using mobile phones could face a fine of $200 to $400 for a first offense, and much more for additional offenses.
Although distracted driving commonly involves the use of a mobile phone, it can also include talking to other passengers, grooming, adjusting the radio or eating.
Can Accident Survivors Receive Compensation for Injuries?
People hit by distracted drivers are sometimes left with catastrophic injuries that can result in lifelong disability. Contacting an attorney can help survivors take the first step in receiving compensation for their injuries.
Targan Pender & Strickland, P.C. – Atlantic City Accident Attorneys