Drunk Driving Accidents in New Jersey

Posted on March 28, 2012 at 2:32pm by

According to The Century Council, there were 149 alcohol-related traffic fatalities in New Jersey in 2009, and 53 percent of the drunk drivers involved in those accidents had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or above — the legal limit is .08. Furthermore, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 25 percent of all fatal car accidents in New Jersey in 2009 involved alcohol-impaired driving. If a drunk driver seriously injured you or caused your loved one’s wrongful death, an experienced Atlantic City injury attorney can help.

New Jersey Drunk Driving Penalties

In New Jersey, anyone operating a motor vehicle or boat with a BAC of .08 or above can be convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).

Persons convicted of DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .10 or above can receive up to 30 days in jail and may be subject to the following fines and penalties:

  • Losing their driver’s license for seven months to one year
  • Paying a $300-$500 fine
  • Paying a $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
  • Contributing $100 to the drunk driving fund
  • Contributing $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
  • Paying a $1,000 annual surcharge for three years
  • Contributing $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Being required to complete 12-48 hours at the IDRC
  • Having their vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device

Persons convicted of DUI with a blood alcohol concentration between .08 and .10 can receive up to 30 days in jail and may be subject to the following fines and penalties:

  • Losing their driver’s license for three months
  • Paying a $250-$400 fine
  • Paying a $230 IDRC fee
  • Contributing $100 to the drunk driving fund
  • Contributing $100 to the AERF
  • Paying a $1,000 annual surcharge for three years
  • Contributing $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Being required to complete 12-48 hours at the IDRC

People convicted of a second DUI within 10 years of the first offense can lose their licenses for up to two years. They can also receive jail sentences of 48 hours to 90 days and be required to have their vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device during the period of license suspension and up to three years thereafter, in addition to fines and community service. A third DUI conviction within 10 years of one’s second offense can result in license suspension for up to 10 years, a jail sentence of up to 180 days, plus fines, community service, and the requirement to drive with an ignition interlock device.

Drunk Driving Victims in New Jersey Have Rights

If a drunk driver injured you or killed your loved one, you may be entitled to financial compensation from the driver. You may also be entitled to compensation from the establishment that served the drunk driver if it violated any dram shop laws. In fact, if you yourself were the drunk driver, you may be able to sue the establishment that served you if it violated a dram shop law by doing so, which can help you compensate the victims hurt by your drunk driving. To learn more about your legal rights, contact an experienced Atlantic City injury lawyer today.



Tags: ,